The Great Enigma

When I was young, I fell in love with philosophy. For what reason, I do not know but it sparked something in me. At such a young age, I pondered long in my mind what life meant. I would lose track of time thinking about this and I still do. But now my thinking is much more abstract. I also thought about things like love and hate, ignorance and knowledge and how I interact with them. I have always been one to look to the past for that is where I most comfortably fit in. I’ve never had interest in superficial things. That is why I never exactly had an easy time talking to my peers. I am more interested in abstract and high level thinking. Something I have been struggling to grasp in these times is why humans give into their base desires with such frequency. I am by no means innocent but I do try my best to resist the temptations. I find that missing in today’s generation along with many other qualities that have long been forgotten by the general public but me being an ancient inside enjoy and praise those lost virtues. Discourse in this day and age is destroyed because we no longer teach such things as philosophy and virtues so it’s no wonder we have riots when we disagree or use ad hominem attacks just so we don’t have to use your brain with the risk of coming to the realization what you might be wrong. I end with this quote by C.S. Lewis. “In a sort of ghastly simplicity we remove the organ and demand the function. We make men without chests and expect of them virtue and enterprise. We laugh at honour and are shocked to find traitors in our midst. We castrate and bid the geldings be fruitful.”

Leave a Reply

